Chapter 1: Any Given Sunday

 

So… my name is Ella Raggs. I’ve started writing this three times now and still, none of the words are right. How you say goodbye to the only people who’ve ever really loved you? The only pillars you’ve ever known in your life?

We moved here to Isla Legado just a few weeks ago, full of dreams. Mom and Dad are the only family I’ve ever known, and they’ve always been all I needed, and for a while, everything was perfect- or as perfect as we needed it to be.

Screenshot-327

Isla Legado was all we imagined it would be, blue skies and endless ocean as far as the eye can see, and full of opportunity. It was going to be our own little happy ever after, and as soon as we picked out our plot of land and made the arrangements with the bank, Mom and Dad and I rushed over to see it. We spent all of our savings on the down payment, and we had the plans for our dream home. Dad was going to have an office to develop his software and mom would have a small cabin at the back for her readings, I was going to go to school and learn how to run Dad’s software company once he got it off the ground. It was going to be amazing.

Screenshot-301

All those dreams died so suddenly.

Screenshot-302

We lost dad to a parasite he’d picked up unnoticed, during the boat voyage here. The only sign there was even anything wrong was a light stomachache he had one night, which seemed more like a bad order of calamari than anything. Mom was heartbroken- Dad was her highschool sweetheart and they’d known each other since childhood. She tried to make things work- to hold on for me. But then she started complaining of chest pains.

Screenshot-306

The doctors say it was a heart attack, but what they call heart attack I know was a broken heart. Her spark just went out.

Screenshot-308

There wasn’t any money left- we had planned on living rough for the first few weeks while we got situated, but dad had taken out an insurance policy on himself, just in case anything ever happened. Mom died before we even finalized the funeral plans, and so I decided to use a bit of the land we bought instead of leaving them in the local cemetery. I know they’re gone and don’t know one way or the other, but I couldn’t bear to have them so far away, and this way at least they’re together. I don’t know if I’ll ever like Sundays again, let alone bright, sunny ones like this.

I don’t know what to do without them- I’m only sixteen next month. I had so much more to learn from them. It’s not fair.

Screenshot-323

I guess that’s my first lesson: life isn’t.


A/N: So… yes. My first chapter. I haven’t written much in ages, but here we go. And no, it won’t always be so horrible.

Leave a Reply

